White Kidney Bean and Kale Soup

It’s that time of year again, school is coming to an end quickly and this time I am embracing the working world! Looking back on myself in September I have grown and changed so much, I truly have learnt a lot about myself and met so many wonderful people.

This blog began as an class project and throughout it I have developed a passion to experiment with recipes and decided I will continue to blog. This time during all the hustle and bustle of finishing assignments I made a study break to make this delicious White Kidney Bean and Kale soup.

Image

This soup was incredibly hearty, colourful and flavourful. I am not a fan of those recipes that provide a lot of leftovers, this provided enough for four bowls, which was perfect for me!

I found this recipe on Chateline, but I made a few changes based on what I had in my kitchen. I had cooked quinoa already made from making my Chocolate Quinoa Avocado Muffins (keep scrolling for the recipe) so I was able to put it in already cooked which sped up the cooking process.

Image

Overall, if you are looking for a healthy, filling soup you have found it! I will be making this again.

Try this recipe out and let me know what you think!

Enjoy!

Mackenzy 

White Kidney Bean and Kale Soup

Adapted from: Chateline

Ingredients:

1 tbsp vegetable oil (I used olive oil)

1 onion, chopped

2 carrots, chopped

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp coriander

1/3 cup dry quinoa

2 cups vegetable broth (I used chicken)

1 can of white kidney beans

2 cups of baby spinach (I used kale)

Directions:

Heat a large saucepan over medium. Add oil, then onion. Cook until onion is soft, about 3 min. Add carrot, garlic, cumin, coriander and quinoa. Cook for 2 more min. Pour in broth and 2 cups water. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to medium-low. Simmer, partially covered, until quinoa is cooked, about 15 more min.

Stir in beans and spinach. Cook until beans are hot and spinach is wilted, 2 to 3 more min. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

